Singapore Yoga Studio / Gym Review – Level

Screen Shot 2017-03-19 at 1.59.15 PM

Great for those who want a little bit of everything – yoga, circuit training, personal training.

Follow me on Instagram @TheYogaSocietySG

Level is a beautiful boutique studio that is – wait for it – not located in a shophouse. The instgram-worthy space occupies 2 retail units of the first floor of what looks like a small office building. It boasts floor-to-ceiling glass panels looking out into the street, accented with brick walls and wooden floorboards.

Unlike most boutiques that specialize in either high intensity workouts or yoga, Level offers a wide range of both.

17333238_595361767334799_8190891293652549632_n(1) Credits: Level Singapore

 


Class

Level offers a wide variety of circuit training and yoga classes. You’d hardly expect a gym to offer such a broad range of yoga classes, but Level surprises on this front.

Perhaps because their main clientele are gym-goers, their yoga classes seems to focus on the more restorative kind of yoga like rope yoga, wheel yoga, Neck & Shoulders, Back Healing. Of course there are also more strength based ones like Vinyasa and Energy Core.

The class I attended was Music Flow, led by Brittanie Firth. It was a yoga class unlike any other I’ve attended before. We grooved to Brittanie’s Spotify playlist whilst running through a Vinyasa (think pulsing in a high lunge to the beat of the music). It was a short 45-minute class that worked up a decent sweat, with the focus on the music rather than sequencing. Although that could’ve been the case because Brittanie had hurt her back and also because half the class was pretty new to yoga. I attend another Music Flow, except that Brittanie is going back to Canada and they don’t seem to offer this anymore – such a pity!

I also took a leap of faith and attended the Weekend Warrior indoor bootcamp class at Level.  Anyone who knows me knows that I hate HIIT exercises and yet there I was at 9am on a Saturday morning. It was only a 45-minute session and since I practice yoga 4x a week, I thought I should be able to keep up. If I can transition through arm-balances, I should be able to handle this right?! Wrong! I felt light-headed after the first 10 minutes and had the rest while the others continued on to the next circuit. This was also when I realised that I needed to start doing more cardio and that Flow classes are just not enough.
The class itself was very well thought out – we did a wide range of workouts that I’d never think (or really have the discipline) to do. The instructor didn’t push me too hard after finding out that it was my first session with them. And I felt amazing after the session (not so much the day after when the aches set in) so I think I might give it another go.

 

Check out their website https://level.com.sg/class-schedule/ for class descriptions.

Price

IMG_8432

Level seems to have a steady stream of regular customers that come in for personal training sessions. They regularly update their social media feeds with promotion packages but what I don’t like is that there isn’t a clear price list on their website. In this aspect, it almost feels like a big chain studio. That said, they have never once tried to hard-sell me a package.

 

Unlimited class pass – $250/month

Updated March 2017


Studio

Level studio
Credits: Level Singapore
The studio is beautiful and I’m a sucker for beautiful spaces to work out in. There are two studios separated by a walkway (which means you have entered the main studio to sign in and exit the main studio to enter the yoga studio for your yoga class).

 

The yoga studio is framed by frosted glass panels and two rope-lined walls. Inside, there is a small bench for you to place your belongings.

 

Level limits the number of students per class to just 10 as the space isn’t very large.

 

The studio uses Lululemon mats, which have great cushion and grip.

Changing Room

The changing room has 2 shower cubicles that come with shampoo and shower gel.

There is a small vanity area by (or at) the sink with hair dryers and a range of beauty products.

You’ll also find the lockers in the changing room.

The studio, however, doesn’t have its own toilets. You’d have to grab the keys to the building’s (grubby) communal toilets outside the studio from the reception.


 Amenities

Towels are provided and can be picked up beside the reception desk or from the cupboards outside the changing rooms.

Location

The studio is on the first floor of 137 Telok Ayer Street.

There are so many food choices in the area, ranging from hawker fare at Lau Pa Sat or cafes along Telok Ayer.

Roadside parking can be hard to find in the evenings given the sheer number of bars and restaurants in the area. Parking in the skyscrapers nearby can be ridiculously expensive. I would suggest only driving here on weekend afternoons.

For those taking the MRT, it is a short walk from Telok Ayer or Downtown MRT stations. Those who would like to warm up before class can walk from Raffles Place or Tanjong Pagar MRT stations.


Classes attended at Level were paid for by The Yoga Society.

Leave a comment